Tabubil, Kiunga crowned

Caption: North Fly Dart champions Tabubil Men’s Team (1) with the cup and trophy after it was presented to them by Gazebo Club president Akolo Kotange and the newly elected executives of North Fly Dart.

Tabubil Men’s Team (1) and Kiunga Women’s Team (1) were both crowned champions of their respective divisions after successfully winning the first ever North Fly Dart tournament on Sunday October 29 at Gazebo Club, Tabubil.

In the men’s final, young gun Kingsley Laka orchestrated Tabubil Men’s Team (1) victory with good support from his captain Louis Popal and vice-captain Kelly Kesawe.

Tabubil Team (1) destroyed Tabubil Team (2) in a cliff hanger 5-4.

Earlier in the knock -out stages Tabubil Team (2) defeated Kiunga Team (1), 5-2 to advance to the final, sending Kiunga Team 1 to face Tabubil Team (1).

Tabubil Team (1) managed to beat Kiunga before upsetting favourites Tabubil Team (2) who were led by their ever green captain Victor Lapu and his deputy Leonard Peruka.

Laka bagged the grand final’s Most Valuable Player (MVP) plus the award for the highest start in the men’s division, by scoring 140.

In women’s Kiunga Team (1) saved their best play for the last upsetting host Tabubil Team (2), 5-4 in another close match.

Kiunga’s Rita Tona put the icing on the cake checking out in her single match to deny Tabubil their first ever North Fly title.

Tona’s efforts were rewarded with her receiving the women’s grand final MVP award and also the award for the highest score of 140.

The other award winners include Highest Start Women’s – Wenica James-136 -Tabubil Team 2; Highest Score Men’s – Bill Hiko-180 – Ningerum, Highest Score Women’s Mabel Lalamo 140 Kiunga Team 1; Rita Tona-140- Kiunga Team 1 and Lucy Wairaf-140- Kiunga Team 2; Highest Checkout Men’s-Peter Jacob-101- Ninegerum; Highest Check Out Women’s-Heau Peruka-115-Tabubil Team 2; Player Of Tournament-Men’s – Henrick Wairaf –Kiunga Team 1; Player of tournament-Women’s – Laura Nigs Tabubil Team 2.

Executives for the North Fly Dart were also elected and they are Madaha Doriga- President – Tabubil; Jonathan Mesa-Vice President-Kiunga; Laura Nigs – Treasurer-Tabubil and Joshua Mongot – Secretary-Ningerum.

Newly elected North Fly Dart president Madaha Doriga thanked teams from Kiunga and Ningerum as well as hosts Tabubil for making the first North Fly Dart tournament a success.

Doriga also thanked Gazebo Club president Akolo Kotange for their sponsorship towards the tournament as well as the club’s continuous support towards the sports of dart.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *