PNGRFL announce 30 women squad for World Cup challenge


PNG Rugby Football League has announced its 30-member squad for the Women’s World Cup challenge in Sydney, Australia in November.

The squad will fly the flag of PNG at the world challenge under the name Orchids which was officially announced last Tuesday. The national team logo was unveiled by Lynda Babao-O’Neill, wife of Prime Minister Peter O’Neil. Oil Search was formally announced as the naming rights sponsor.

The name of the national team was approved by PNGRFL board in March this year.

According to PNGRFL chairman Sandis Tsaka, the name Orchids resembles the country’s rich and unique flora and fauna which the board has chosen as indigenous that reflected the country’s national diversity

“The national women’s rugby league has not had a formal name and in fact have yet to play an international match,” Tsaka said.

He expressed his excitement on the part that PNG women have now considered themselves member of the international rugby league community.

Before the World Cup, the team gets its first taste of international match against Jillaroos, Australian national women’s team in the annual Prime Minister’s 13 on September 23 before the World Cup in November 16 – December 2. They play curtain raiser to the PM’s 13 fixture at the National Football Stadium.

The PNG Orchid squad: Barbara Selsel, Carol Humeu, Cathy Neap, Elvina Aaron, Freda Waula, Grace Mark, Jennifer Michael, Joan Kuman, Maima Wae, Margret Papo, Martha Karl, Naomi Kaupa, Shirley Joe, Akosita Baru, Anna Oiufa, Brenda Goro, Christy Roulage, Della Audama, Elava Turpa, Gloria Kaupa, Helen Abau, Jacobeth Ware, Shirley Jerry, Vero Waula. Shadow players: Anas Lingiliket, Atua Arek, Barbra Andrew, Fay Sogavo, Mala Mark, Melisa James, Coach: Dennis Miall.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *